Users Types

Modified on: Mon, 8 Nov, 2021 at 12:09 PM


FutureVault uses the concept of roles and there are 6 predefined roles. Each role has different permissions with regards to performing tasks and accessing areas of the vault. Each role is discussed in detail below:

VaultHolder or Vault's owner

A VaultHolder or a Vault owner is the end-user/owner of a vault (i.e. your clients). VaultHolders have access to all core functionalities of a vault i.e. they can upload/share and delete documents filed in their vault as well as add reminders. Depending on the type of vault, VaultHolders usually have two types of folders:

1. Company Folders(Administrators have access to these folders by default)

2. Personal Folders(Administrators or any individual needs to be added as a Trusted Advisor or Manager to be able to access these folders. By default only VaultHolders can access this area)

VaultHolders can add/edit/remove Trusted Advisors' permissions to their personal folders at any time but they cannot remove the Administrators or Representatives access to the “Company’s Taxonomy”.

Administrative Users (Sponsors)

Administrator (Admin) 

An individual who manages:

1. All the users i.e. other administrators/representatives under his/her Admin Portal,

2. Has access to all clients' vault, 

3. Has the permission to use all the tools available on the Admin portal. However, Corporate Vault Access is optional

With respect to the client vaults, an admin can manage and access only the company folders on the clients' vaults along with access to the 'Delete' and 'Contacts' tab. The VaultHolder cannot remove an admins' access to the company folders. By default, admins cannot access the Personal folders of the VaultHolder, however, VaultHolders can give Admins additional access to their Personal folders by adding them as a Trusted Advisor or Manager. Also, by default, an admin cannot access the following areas in vaults.

  • Unfiled tab
  • Shared tab
  • Reminders (some exceptions apply - depending on the nature of the relationship with the client)

Representative (Reps)

An individual that can ONLY access those clients' vaults and those company folders as assigned or permitted by the Administrator. Thus, they have limited access as compared to an Admin. Reps do have access to the checklists and they can be permissioned to the Corporate Vault. But, Reps cannot access the following areas in vaults.

  • Unfiled tab
  • Shared tab
  • Reminders (some exceptions apply - depending on the nature of the relationship with the client).

The VaultHolder cannot remove Reps access to the company folders, but VaultHolders can give Reps extra access to their Personal folders as a Trusted Advisor or Manager 


Info! this user is created as a Contact in all the vaults with the label SPONSOR. This label indicates that they can only see the company folders. When giving extra access a new label will be added.

Client Collaborators:

Trusted Advisor

An individual who can only access those specific folders, subfolders, entities, or area in a Vault depending on the permissions set by the Vault holder. Trusted Advisors' access to the different areas of the vault can be removed or edited at any time by the VaultHolder. By default, Trusted Advisors do not have an individual vault, but they need to have an account in the system.  On the 'Contacts' tab, this individual will now have a label as shown below to indicate that it's a Trusted Advisor. A Trusted Advisor has limited access to a vault as compared to a Manager.

Manager

An individual who has the same permissions as a VaultHolder. It's similar to assigning the Trusted Advisor an access to all the areas of the vault. Manager's access can be removed at any time by the VaultHolder. By default, Managers do not have an individual vault, but they need to have an account in the system. On the contacts tab, this individual will now have a label to indicated that it's a Manager.

External User

An individual who receives a secure link to view and download a specific document. For security purposes, their access should be temporary but is based on the settings set by the sender. By default, they do not need to have an account in the system.

Info! Users can hold a combination of different roles. For example, Sponsor users can be set up as Trusted Advisor to a clients' vault.



Did you find it helpful? Yes No

Send feedback
Sorry we couldn't be helpful. Help us improve this article with your feedback.